Discussion

22 My first period class made my day on Friday. While a few students worked silently by themselves, the rest divided into two groups to look at a set of graphs and answer questions. The graphs were originally given as x vs. t graphs and earlier this week the kids drew the corresponding v vs. t graphs. We were looking at the graphs again and these were the questions:

  • What is the total distance?
  • What is the total displacement?
  • What is the average speed?
  • What is the average velocity?

The two groups were awesome. They had good discussions. They asked each other questions. They explained things to each other. The video clip above isn’t the best discussion I heard, it’s just the one I got to with the video camera and which then had the best sound quality. Another group had even better discussion, with better participation among the group. Unfortunately, I could not make out what they were saying once I looked at the video.

I’m sorry this post is two days late. I think that may wind up being par for the course if I wind up with more videos. Deal with it! 😉

 

##CVPM  ##graphing  ##studentdialogue

Leave a Reply

