Answers

25 One thing I have noticed is that the Modeling Instruction materials for physics do not have a lot of practice materials in them. Practice is what helps you get better at things (it builds myelin layers around the circuits in your brain), so over the years I have made various practice materials for my students.  Today we were getting ready for tomorrow’s assessment of x vs. t and v vs. t graphs with my conceptual classes. So last night I made some practice problems. I drew them by hand on graph paper with a sharpie pen and a ruler, which was much more relaxing for me than trying to create them all on the computer. Doing it on the computer is easy enough with OmniGraphSketcher and Excel, but drawing these out by hand is very soothing for my brain. Soldering is like that too. I am perfectly happy to sit and solder for hours at a time.

Anyway, we did not get to go over the answers in class, so I made a colorful answer sheet, scanned it, and put it on Moodle. I hope the different colors help the students get which parts are which. The photo above shows two of the six “problems” I gave the kids.

Also, it was “Disney/Pixar” day at school for spirit week:

(Army guy, Buzz Lightyear, shiny Superman (?), Dalmation, Elastigirl, kid from Up, ?, Cheshire cat, “Kitty” and in front is Hercules)

 

##CVPM  ##graphing

 

 

Leave a Reply

